Michael Been (The Call) Died Today – 8-19-2010

I was very sad to hear today of the passing of one of my all time favorite vocalists, Michael Been of The Call. I plan on writing something in more detail tomorrow about my experiences with him and his impact on Christian Music and the world of music at large as soon as I process the loss.

I will be listening to The Call a lot for the next several days.

I Still Believe!

5 responses to this post.

  1. The passing of Michael Been is a shock to all of us. I was just getting some music together today even before hearing of his death, to add to the WOW.FM rotation and then the news came. Very sad and a young 52-53 year old who still had it in him. When Christ calls us home, then it’s time, and so we say, goodbye Mike, we all love you, now rest in the arms of Jesus, forever!

    Everyone, I hope you don’t mind this plug, but we launched to greatest radio station on the internet over a year ago, and we play CCM hits from the 70’s and 80’s, with some 90’s and even a few from today, as well as crossover Billboard hits from the same era. ALL IN CD QUALITY! If you love Jesus music, please come for a visit. I’ve been programming Christian radio stations since the late 70’s and the folks behind the station are from #1 radio markets. We’re here for you and look forward to your visit.

    Blessings!

    Lee Bartlett
    President
    WOW.FM
    Radio Without Boundaries!

    Reply

  2. It is terrible tragedy that Michael Been has passed away. You can help remember him by contributing to his memorial website at http://michaelbeen.people2remember.com/

    Reply

  3. Posted by Gary on August 23, 2010 at 8:11 pm

    I too have been listening to lots of Michael’s music the past couple days. “Here’s to you”, Michael!

    Reply

  4. Posted by David A. on September 12, 2010 at 7:13 pm

    Sad, but happy news to hear.

    Michael can rest now, walking with the LORD he wrote & sang of !

    I’ll try to locate his CD – Reconciled – only one of theirs I possess, in memoriam.

    LORD bless his family,

    David A.

    Reply

  5. Posted by mark on October 18, 2010 at 2:00 am

    Russ Taffs version of I still believe has always been an inspiration,
    I did not know it was a cover of The Call’s
    what a powerful real worship song

    Reply

Leave a Reply

